trail hunter
    Apr 2008

looking at IGH but have ?'s

Im building up and old fisher frame for touring and am considering an IGH. My main concern is chain tensioning. Do I have to have a tensioning device or is that done by the hub?

Frt Range, CO
    If the dropouts are vertical and you don't have a EBB, then you'll need a tensioner. If your frame has EBB, horizontial dropouts or sliders, then you don't need a tensioner.

trail hunter
    Apr 2008

ok,

do magic gear rations work with igh?

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by bhunter
    do magic gear rations work with igh?
    Yup!

But ... what are you going to do about chain stretch?
    Last edited by Sometimes; 10-22-2009 at 08:10 PM.

trail hunter
    Apr 2008

well,

would a half limk chain work? Or i could just remove links as necessary.

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    I'm new to SS'ing/IGH, having just more than a month SS'ing before giving it up & switching to IGH. IGH was always my aim but thought I'd give SS'ing a shot.

Anyvey ... from my very limited experience & from what I remember reading, a half link equals 1/2" & will allow the axle to move forward/backward 1/4". That's seems like a lot of chain stretch to me. In other words, that seems to be too much to account for chain stretch.

I don't know the recommended limit on chain sag/deflection but on my Rohloff it's a maximum of 10mm with not much force. I've seen pics on this site of SS's with quite a bit of sag in their chains. So perhaps that's acceptable. Seems like an invitation for chain skip & perhaps accelerated wear to me but what do I know, I'm new to all this.

I think a tensioner would be the best solution. They're quite compact & don't (apparently) have to be mounted in the traditional rear derailleur position as I've seen pics of at least one mounted on the chainstay, just behind the chainring, which would provide a bit more protection & also keep the bike looking 'clean'.

Good luck.

lives to ride
    Feb 2005