Bike Dork

How are Alfine hubs on really rough trails?

I'm new to Missouri and the trails here are really rough with lots of rocks, roots, and small drops. The up-side it they're relatively flat with short steep sections, so no huge range of gears is needed. Everybody I know who uses an Alfine off-rode rides in the relatively smooth PacNW. A co-worker and I are thinking about making the switch to IGH, but we're worried about destroying the hubs from rough conditions.

Rohloff
    Quote Originally Posted by themanmonkey
    I'm new to Missouri and the trails here are really rough with lots of rocks, roots, and small drops. The up-side it they're relatively flat with short steep sections, so no huge range of gears is needed. Everybody I know who uses an Alfine off-rode rides in the relatively smooth PacNW. A co-worker and I are thinking about making the switch to IGH, but we're worried about destroying the hubs from rough conditions.
    I've been banging my Alfine around on a hardtail on a lot of rocky, rooty terrain for about 6 months. Everything is working great. From all I've read the Alfine is holding up well to abuse.

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    I ride some fairly rough stuff, no troubles so far. I really like the ability to shift while coasting through a rock garden.

Bike Dork
    Good words so far thanks.

Master of None
    I have an Alfine 501 on my 33 lb "all mountain" hardtail for just over a year. I weigh 200 lbs and like to go fast on pretty rocky terrain. I've done some drops, maybe the biggest is 4' to flat. I did get some water in it just recently but I was crossing some 2' deep streams.

Frt Range, CO