Thread: frayed cables

mtbr member
    Nov 2009

frayed cables

cutting my cables to length (rohloff) went all wrong. I have a brand new park tool cable cutter, i only cut a couple of cables with this thing. Already it was too dull to make a clean cut through the cable. The ends ended up all frayed!!!! I couldnt get them to go in them stupid little holes, I got it to work in the end , but cables are all frayed and down to half thier strength. On motorcycles I would wrap cable in electrical tape, cut with grinding wheel, undo tape, and use acetalen torch, and siver solder to keep end from fraying, but I no longer have a torch Any advice?

will rant for food
    Jan 2010
    The ends of bike cables have a bit of solder on them. Once you cut them to length, you lose the end's tidiness benefit.

Can you tell me if cutting them to length before bolting them down is necessary on a Rohloff install? I have no experience with that hub (on my wish list though).

I've had to solder a cable end before installing it, but only once. It was a pain, I had to take a dremel to the excess, but it looked better than a cable cap once finished.

You don't need a new torch - just a soldering pencil will do.

But if you can, install full length cable and then cut.

I'd never thought of the tape wrap / grinding approach to cutting cable. I'm not impressed with cable cutters in general, I might have to try that. It's the same way I cut bamboo, and that shares the concept of working with filaments.
    Latitude: 44.93 N

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    The instructions call for you to cut the housing the proper length, then cut the cable 200mm longer than housing, I probably should have measured if the cable was the right length already, because I only needed to shorten them a couple of inches.

mtbr member