mtbr member

Exploring IGH Conversion

Looking for advice or suggestions.

Have been considering changing to the Alfine 11 IGH for my next bike. I'm currently riding a 2010/11 Giant XTC2 29er. Cassette is 12-36 (9 speed) with 22-32-44 chainrings. I am very new to all of the calculations and theory around ratios, gear inches etc but have had a go and this is what I have come up with. Please be gentle with any input as I am willing to take on any constructive critisism and learn from it.

We know the Alfine 11 has a spread of 409% so I have been doing most of my riding of late deliberately staying off the largest chainring but I have calculated (rightly or wrongly) that this still would be a range somewhere around 435%-438% depending on who's calculator you use.

If I were to change the cassette to a 12-34 this would bring it down to somewhere between 410%-412% which would give me a truer indication of what riding with the Alfine 11 would be like without the expense, however this brings me to the next delimma. Choosing an appropriate chainring and cog to match as near as possible an equivalent setup, because as near as I can tell, its going to be a 28-23 combination which seems very low, not to mention way out spec for what shimano would recommend.

Please remember these are the musings of an absolute novice on this subject, but any input from others who know their stuff or have had success in what I'm trying to achieve would be appreciated. Cheers.

mtbr member
    I think you're on the right track. Sheldon Brown has a gear calculator to help out your calculations:

Sheldon Brown's Bicycle Gear Calculator

In or out of Shimano spec (in my mind at least) doesn't matter much. Most people riding alfine on MTB setup are out of spec right out the door. The important question you need to ask yourself is how important is that super low 22/36 gear you have now? Do you ever use it?