Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2008

Good job! Bar End Shifter for 8sp Alfine

Hello guys

Has anyone tried these? I am having a commuting bike built with alfine igh and Nitto Noodle Drop Bars, just machined the alfine shifter clamp to fit the larger drop bar dia.

Now I find this, has anyone tried these yet, I'm going to order one and try it on my drop bar.

http://jtekengineering.com/jtek_bar-end_shifter.htm

Or should I stick with the alfine shifter on the top of my drop bar? Anyone have any experience withthat arrgt? It looks different, but doesn't seem too bad. I'll try and post a pic of the alfine shifter on drop bar.

thanks
    Klunker2
    Steve

Nightriding rules SuperModerator
    can you get enough cable pull from a regular bar end shifter in friction mode?

(I have no experience with the Alfine)

Older & Faster...downhill
    Aug 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by crisillo

(I have no experience with the Alfine)
    I just researched the heck out of this and the answer I found was, no. Might not be the final answer. I do like that machined piece and would work for the cruiser project, and in black too!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Margaritaman
    I just researched the heck out of this and the answer I found was, no. Might not be the final answer. I do like that machined piece and would work for the cruiser project, and in black too!!!

yeah that black shifter looks good

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by crisillo
    Friction shifters are not recommended for geared hubs like the Alfine, without proper indexing, you can place the shift mechanism between gears, which is a good way to terminate the hub.

However, there have been people who said using a Travel-Agent (the pulley used to convert old canti levers to V-brakes) and a Shimano 8-speed shifter works.

Barend shifter and nexus hub?

http://thelazyrandonneur.blogspot.co...-and-ighs.html

http://www.oldspokeshome.com/blog/?p=119