Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Alfine Versa 8 Speed Shifters

I've bought some shifters but have no instructions!

Does anyone know where I can find a link to them?

Thanks

mtbr member
    It's OK I've found them!

will rant for food
    Jan 2010
    Please do a review after some miles on them, very few people use these levers. I have a pair waiting to go on an unfinished bike, so I'm curious.
    Latitude: 44.93 N

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Drew Diller View Post
    Please do a review after some miles on them, very few people use these levers. I have a pair waiting to go on an unfinished bike, so I'm curious.
    Will do. But may be a little while. Just heard I'm booked in for minor surgery at the weekend which will put me off the bike for weeks or so.

Cat Herder

My 2 cents:

I've been running these on my Surly X-check for two years now. I got them online for $180 if memory serves. Overall, my impression is positive. The build quality is decent. The levers are aluminum with resin bodies. The mechanism is fairly smooth without a lot of slop. Don't hold hold me to it, but I recall that Sussex (company making Versa 8s) is a subcontractor for Shimano.

Couple things:
    1)The shift mechanism requires a cable with a smaller-than-standard head. Apparently this smaller head is also used on some Campy gear. The cable that ships with the lever works fine but I managed to bork it, and my LBS didn't have a replacement and suggested I clamp a standard shift cable in a vise and file the head down until it fit. That worked fine and that's what I'll do next time it needs replacement.
    2) The throw on the bigger upshift lever is very long, so I have to push it with the tips of my fingers to complete the shift. In general the levers seem suited best to large hands.