All Lefty's, all the time Moderator

Alfine specific ???, I'm a newb on these....

So I have a buddy who want to build up a Milk Money, and was debating either Hammerschmidt, or an Alfine. Rohloff would be awesome, but starts to push the budget envelope if you know what I mean.

So I asked over on the 29er forum, where I know some are in use, and I could kinda get the lay of the land so to speak. Now, I have some more specific questions.

Primarily, gearing. He runs a 32/17 and is very happy with it. He'd thinking about using a Gates Belt Drive, so we need to get the gearing kinda nailed down, as the drive gears aren't free. It sounds like the gearing range is limited on the Alfines, so, does anyone have an idea how to relate it to a SS set up? As in, with a 32 up front, 3rd gear gives you a 17t effective in the rear, etc? That way, I can figure out what sort of range he'll have. He's happy to ride most stuff with the gearing he has, so a narrow range is okay, as long as it's positioned a bit to on both sides of what he has now, it'll be an improvement.

Also, asked this there too, but how's durability under a gear crusher? He's a super strong rider, and we don't want to get him all set up, only to find it's not happy being used in the mud, crud, freezing temps, abusive power pushing, etc. A common theme was having to lighten up up to shift, I'm okay with that. You guys find they hold up well to a true off road environment, as opposed to commuting, or railing some smooth singletrack somewhere in the midwest? Nothing against the midwest of course, but in the northeast here, we've got a lot of these sudden super steep techy climbs and the like, which tends to put a hurting on gear that isn't really up to the task, if you know what I mean.

Thanks all!
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member