mtbr member

Alfine 11 Problem

I have been using Alfine 11ís for a few years on three of my bikes with zero issues until last weekend. I had a skip in second gear going up an incline while pedaling seated. If I was pedaling standing I would likely have a higher voice. Anyways, I do get skips occasionally when my shifting is not perfect but I never had a skip in second gear. After the initial skip, all gears were FUBAR. I tried (trailside) to re-adjust the shift cable. It would work for a few hundred yards and then FUBAR. I limped home. When I got home, I cleaned all the external parts and assured the cable was functioning properly. Went for a short ride. Never made it out of the neighborhood. Once again, all gears FUBAR.

My first thought was maybe the failures I have been hearing about are true. If so, I did not want to get stranded out in the middle of nowhere so I ordered a complete 1X9 Shimano setup just in case. The Alfine was still in warranty but I did not want to return it for replacement until I knew what caused it to fail. The unit has over 2000 miles on it and all MTB. Running 32/22. The unit is on a Ti Jones Spaceframe.

I tore into the unit and did not notice anything out of the ordinary. The pawls, gears and roller clutches all looked just fine. No signs of wear, just normal shiny wear surfaces were there is metal to metal contact. As I was cleaning all of the parts, I come across a few pieces of metal clinging to the sides of one of the planetary carrier units (see photo). You can tell by looking under magnification the pieces appeared to have been through some of the gearing. I inspected all of the gears under magnification and did not see any sign of damage. I did not see any broken parts either. The metal pieces were differently in the hub from the factory because I found another piece clinging to the side of the inside of the hub body.

I re-assembled the hub and so far everything is fine. I guess only time will tell.