mtbr member
    May 2007

New to Intense and 29 inches!

New to Intense and 29 inches!-dat-bike-tire.jpgNew to Intense and 29 inches!-dat-bike.jpg

So this is my new ride. Just finishing the build and think I may want a larger front tire than the Conti Mountain King 2.4 ( really more like a 2.1 ) I posted this in the 29er forum, but now have a new question... What is the largest size tire that can be run in a Rockshox Reba Team dual air 140mm with 20mm thru axle? Can I squeeze a Maxxis Ardent 2.4 or Hans Dampf 2.35 in there?? The first pic is with the Conti. Mt. King 2.4.

Anybody know?

Bikes!
    You'll definitely get the Hans Dampf in there without any issues. Lovely bike by the way!

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Thanks for the reply on the HD fitting, and bike comment. I am really excited as this is my first Intense. I've been riding an '07 Yeti 575 for the last 6 years, it now may have to be retired after a large rock cratered the down tube. Being a parent of 2 teens and limited budget, this has been pieced together frugally. I am a beginner mechanic and will rely on a true local bike wrench to install derailleur cables / housings and fine tune it all!

Ready to try out the 29 experience...

Bikes!
    I use the Hans Dampf in my Fox 32 120 RLC's and they clear fine, the clearance on the Rock Shox is better I believe.

It looks like you've done a great job and what a 29er to start out on, only one of the best rolling and most fun ones out there!

mtbr member
    Post up a review after some saddle time. I have the exact frame sitting in my living room waiting to slowly be pieced together.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Will do...Soon as she's done! Hopefully I will get it out this week (weather providing)!
    Last edited by keithrad; 03-31-2013 at 05:36 PM.

There's always next year.