Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2013

My Carbine SL Story

I originally wanted to buy a 2014 Carbine 275, but after some advice on this forum, I saw some great deals on Carbine SL frames in the US&A. I was fortunate to get hold of one of the last mediums available from Zach at Bike Bling, and a few weeks later was the proud owner of a stunning frame. I thought staying with 26" wheels would save me around 2000 on my build, as I could use my existing AM Classic/Stans wheelset, plus the great deal on the frame. In the UK, the 2014 carbine has gone up in price, so The SL became an easier purchase decision to make, although tbh 650b is still gnawing away at the back of my mind. I'm no pro, so a sexy 26" wheeler is more than enough for me.......for now.

Anyways, I'll use the thread to post up pics of my build process, and I'll try to post up some videos of future adventures with the bike. My last Full sus bike was 2010 GT Force Carbon Expert, that was a 150mm 26lb (without a dropper post) bike which I thought was very good. I've weighed my fully built Carbine SL and get it to 25lb 2oz on my mate's fish scales, including Reverb Stealth and pedals.

The build:
    Intense Carbine SL frame with ISCG tabs and Stealth routing
    Rockshox Pike 26" forks
    SRAM XX1 Groupset with Gripshift
    American Classic Hubs
    Stans Crest
    DT Supercomp
    DT Swiss 10mm Rear axle
    Rockshox Reveb Stealth
    Shimano XTR Trail brakes
    Chris King Headset
    Raceface Turbine Stem 70mm
    Easton Haven Carbon Bars
    Fizik Gobi XM Kyrium rails
    Time ATAC XS Carbon
    Specialized Purgatory Control 2.3" tyres

I've only had chance to go for a quick spin on it, and it felt fine. I'll hopefully get out soon and do some video of some of the rides. Going to be teaching a workmate how to ride off road, so hopefully give me time to get the suspension dialled down and what not.

Thanks to everyone on here for their advice on my questions asked.