mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Carbine SL rear shock upgrade......

Like the chap in the butchered SL thread, I'm thinking of buying a new rear shock instead of paying circa 100 servicing the stock rp23.

So, if I went for a 2015 Rockshox Monarch RT3 Debonair Monarch RT3 DebonAir 2015 - TF Tuned

Would I be able to order the equivalent standard carbine length 200x57 to increase my travel or should I stick with 200x50 as per 135mm travel Carbine SL?

I realise DBinline is all the rage, but I can't be arsed with the hassle of fettling with one, sooner use something simpler.

If given the option with the Rockshox rear shock, do I need to specify a particular compression/damping/rebound tune?

Cheers, TV

mtbr member
    Mar 2013

I have just popped over from the Santa Cruz forum due to the fact my mate has just brought a second hand carbine. Anyway I just stuck a inline on my solo and it transformed the bike. The setting up is pretty easy. I was a total novice. Just start with some of the tunes on the cane creek site. With in a few rides it will be sorted and anything you don't like, you can change without sending it away.

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    What benefits to the ride does an inline shock offer? I'm not sure I'd be able to tell a difference.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013