mtbr member
    May 2012

Tire recomendations and Q's about our local trails

I'm just getting started riding the local trails like Military Reserve and Hull's Gulch etc. I'm getting the hang of how to climb these hills and although I can't get up them without a few breaks I'm getting better. I'm riding a HT Giant XTC 2 29er.

I'm still riding Tubes with Stan's in them. Next year I plan on going tubeless. I'm still on flat pedals but also plan on going to clipless pedals next year also.

I have noticed on some of the steeper dowhill descent's in the S's the tires slide a bit or washout at what I consider high speeds. I have Racing Ralphs 2.1 F&R but I'm not sure if the issue is too much tire pressure(35 psi)

Is there a better tire suited to our local conditions better than the RR's I'm surrently using or will these be fine once I lower the pressure and run tubeless?

I think what I really need is more HP or a better motor

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    Right now all the trails are loose so even if you were riding a 3.5 it might still break loose a bit. After riding for longer and getting better bike control the washing out shouldn't be as much as an issue, it's most likely inexperience and bad lines. Asking for info on tires will give you a hundred different responses, best is to borrow as many as you can and ride the ones that you think feel the best.

mtbr member
    May 2012
    I'll agree for sure with the lack of experience being an issue. That and not really knowing the trails, obstacles come up pretty quick so at times my lines aren't the best.

Today at Hull's Gulch on the climb from the parking area it was really loose. What tires do you use?

mtbr member