Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Local Help

mtbr member
    Mar 2006

Local Help

Alright I need some help deciding on what bike I should get for the local trails (Boise). I'm just starting out so I just plan on doing the begginer to intermediate stuff like around the foothills and such until I really get my skill level up. But I need help deciding on which bike that will be a good begginer bike but still be able to handle the area. I'd like to keep it in the 500 range but also save as much as I can for buying some accessories. Oh and since I'm just getting into it I really don't have a clue on which componets are the best.

Right now I'm deciding between with as much as I know:

Specialized Rockhopper http://www.specialized.com/bc/SBCBkModel.jsp?spid=12989 No disk brakes, strong frame good stuff all around

Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc http://www.specialized.com/bc/SBCBkModel.jsp?spid=12277 Has Disk brakes, strong frame with decent stuff

Diamondback Response Sport http://www.diamondback.com/items.asp...=14&itemid=176 Also has the disk brakes on par with hardrock but has 20mm more travel

Now I hear the rockhopper has the better overall componets but doesn't have the disk brakes. I'd save some money if I went for one of the others and could start getting ready to upgrade with the money I saved.

So what I'm really asking is for what we have around here would it better to get the rockhopper with better overall stuff or get something with disk brakes?

Would really appreciate any help or suggestions. Thanks

mtbr member
    May 2004
    EP you wanna help this kid/guy?
    Because I'm tending to want to tell him to save until he has around his current budget for bike and accessories or so to get a Hardtail with decent components that are lighter, and will work and last a while as he progresses?