mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Camping near jackson hole.

Planning a trip to Jackoson for Labor day weekend and I am looking for cheap camping options. Can anyone point me to some cheap places to camp with a 20 ft RV? Forest service campgrounds, unsupported sites, don't really need hookups just a decent place to camp for a few days near jackson.
    Visiting St george/Hurricane? Stay at my vacation rental. Discounts for MTB's

http://www.vrbo.com/392904

PM me

beater
    Locals might have better suggestions, but the Atherton Creek campground up the Gros Ventre road is pretty decent if you don't mind being ~30 min from town. I don't think you'd have any RV issues going that far. I spent several summers in the 90s working for a geology field camp up that way, so that's the part of the JH area I know the best.
    "Back off, man. I'm a scientist." - Dr. Peter Venkman

Riding in Helena? Everything you need to know, right here.

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    Gros Ventre Campground, Camping in Grand Teton National Park - AllTrips

Campgrounds - Grand Teton National Park

We stayed at Gros Venture campground along the river a few weeks ago. Paved roads throughout the campgrounds. Descent facility, firewood and ice available at the check-in bldg. Drive through a herd of buffalo every day from town to campground, moose along the river, tree-huggers telling you to” slow down for the baby buffalo”, I said….. ‘they taste good sautéed in onions and mushrooms’, not sure what the tree-huggers might taste like. The campground is Close to town, reasonably quiet, plenty of room to maneuver an RV along with RV water and dump station. Don’t leave trash, coolers or cooking stuff outside, they will take it and ticket you up to $300 (I think). We had cell phone coverage as well in the campground. That could be a bad thing though. We are planning on riding the flow and jump trails at Teton Village Labor Day weekend as well.