mtbr member
    Jun 2007

Titanium Skewers

Anyone using ti skewers on their mojo?

Someone told my friend here that you can't use ti skewers on a full suss. I reckon that's bullsh*t.

Any ideas?

mtbr member
    Jul 2006

Ti

My light road ones came with instructions that said not to use them on MTB FWIW.

H
    Hans
    Ibis Cycles, Inc.

www.derbyrims.com
    I called American Classic tech support about their relatively inexpensive MTB Ti skewers to see if they had a weight limit for a 5.5 inch travel bike. I told them my weight and rough trail use. They said 230 lb limit - so no problem for my 200 lbs.

I've been using the same Salsa Ti skewers in the front for probably 5 years, but steel in the rear axle due to Salsa recommendations back then. They were pretty beat up on the surface and needed replacement.

You should check with your manufacturer. Ti is supposed to snap from fatigue easier than steel. But the quality of Ti used by the manufacturers may make the weight limit difference too.

mtbr member
    Dec 2007

Cool-blue Rhythm Stainless better option, I think.

For example, some of the best respected skewers around:

http://www.salsacycles.com/skewers.html

"Stainless steel for front and full-suspension or Titanium rod for road or rigid mtn only"

I've heard that titanium isn't the best choice of QR material for suspension frames... The additional flex associated with suspension design tends to benefit from a stiffer material holding things together at critical anchor points, like the wheels.

Keep Riding !!

Kore Ti

I have Kore Ti skewers on my XL Mojo, which I've had for about 12 Months with no problems, I'm about 190 lbs.

However I had the same skewer on the front (rear has KC Fun Bolts) of my rigid single speed (Airborne Ti Hag) and couldn't do them up tight enough and now use a XTR skewer
    Just Ride !

mtbr member
    Jun 2007

Hope I'll eat my hat

Cheers chaps, I stand corrected, there obviously is some truth in it.