mtbr member

Should I upgrade the suspension on my HD?

I've been loving my HD for 2 years and have put some serious miles on it. I've become a much better all-around rider since getting this bike - mostly ride AM / XC but lately I've been pushing my limits on some DH trails. I really enjoy riding DH-ish stuff, but of course there is not a lot of it available to ride, and some of it is out of my comfort zone - I want to get better. I ride aggressively and look for opportunities to air it out. I will hit parks / shuttles occasionally, but of course I spend a ton of time climbing and like to climb fast.

Right now I'm running the standard Float 160 RP23 & Float 36 RLC 160. Everybody raves about coil shocks but I haven't had much experience on them. I have been reading a lot of other threads and it seems like it is almost all upside to upgrade - besides just the weight (& $$), are there other downsides on a bike like the HD?

For those that have upgraded, did it slow you down a lot on the climbs? Is it just a no-brainer if cash is not an issue?

And, of course - what shock / shocks do you recommend for the HD?

Thanks in advanced for your help and expertise!

Edit: I weigh about 150 lbs.

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    I recently had an RC4 on my HD whilst the CCDBA received the high flow inner sleeve.

The difference between the two shocks is very clear. The performance of the CCDBA outshone the coil in all areas (climbing, technical ups and downs, fast downs - smooth and rough).

I'm also running a 160mm RC2 float ( actually a 180mm spaced down a little). I'm looking for a coil 180mm (Marzocchi or Fox) to have a play with but then I'm also considering a Fox 40 reduced to 180mm as one of the Ibis staff has done.

FWIW I'm around 260lb.

aka dan51
    I've had the rp23, a push vivid mx coil, xfusion vector rc coil, and now the xfusion vector hlr air. The xfusion coil has been the best so far. The hlr air is good, but not as good in high speed chunk as the vector coil.