mtbr member

Shimano XT vs Hope M4 brakes

Hi everybody,

I would like to set up in my new Mojo HD one of these two options for brakes: Shimano XT or Hope Tech Evo M4 brakes.

On the one hand, I have heard that Hope brakes are the reference when talking about brakes. But on the other hand, I have heard too that their braked is very gradual and Shimano XT brakes are "ruder", I mean, their power of braked is "colder".

Are you agree with that? Can you help me in the choice?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    I don't know the Hopes. But I have latest XTs and they are fantastic.

mtbr member
    I think these days most people would consider the Shimano brakes to be the new "reference", but my Hope Tech X2's have been FLAWLESS. Super adjustable... you can make them really grab, or tune them for more lever travel and progressive feel. I've been running the same brakes for 4 years and I think I've bled them twice, which is very easy to do BTW, and they are just invisible....they do what I want them and expect them to do every time, no drama.

I've ridden the current XT / XTR brakes on several bikes, and they definitely have more ultimate power than my non-Evo X2's, but the Evo M4's will have more power than mine too. The XT's were much more abrupt on/off than the X2's, but not so much that I couldn't adjust to it pretty quickly.

I think you'd probably be stoked with either.... which aesthetic do you prefer? Japanese tech, or British machine shop?

Don't know if this helps or not..... Good luck

mtbr member