mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Need some advice on a 2013 Ibis HD frame build

I'm a noob at Ibis Mojo HD setup, please enlighten me!

I'm finally updating my ride. Going from a 2008 Dawg to a'13 Mojo HD.

Love the Dawg but the HD is a substantial upgrade from the kona frame. I ride hell out of the dawg and can keep up with most. I've been riding forever but feel a bit out of touch with the new options.

The initial plan was to swap over all parts and ride.

Found out my 665 SLX crank isn't compatible due to chain line issues with the lower DW links. Don't want to risk damaging the frame from chain slap. Would rather not pay for a front derailuer and shifter. Can handle pedaling uphill in a 32 tooth ring, will miss the leverage of a 36 on the down.

What I've got so far... 35 or 65mm stem, 750mm bars, 160mm Marz 55 Rc3 ti, Stans Flow wheels, Seatpost, BB, Headset. The rest is yet to be decided. I usually build my bikes to last a long time as I don't like to swap out parts or have issues. To give you an idea, many of the parts on the Dawg were from a build I did back in 2004, just swapped out frames.

What would you all recommend for drivetrain?

1X with a double wide?
    What crank? (Have a Hope BB that I can swap over)
    Chain Guide with a 2x?
    New clutch style rear derailuer?
    10 speed or 9?

Anything else?
    Last edited by eshew; 1 Week Ago at 12:00 AM.

mtbr member

Need some advice on a 2013 Ibis HD frame build

The new 1x Narrow Wide revolution with clutch dérailleur is for real. Speaking as a died in the wool Shimano guy, SRAM 11 sp is for real, but pricey. If you want a more "value" setup, XT or for that matter SLX, is impossible to beat. You can get XT cranks and 10sp R Der's cheap, and that shit is awesome. Pick your NW chainring, and enjoy solid light reliable quiet drivetrain performance.

mtbr member