Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2005

My thought on My Mojo after my 1st ride

Hi all,

I just finally received my pike race back from rockshox and was able to take the mojo for a real ride.

Here is a quick spec on my mojo:
    Here is my L Green Mojo:
    Fork: RockShox Pike Race
    Crank: FSA VDrive MegaExo
    SeatPost: Thompson Elite
    Stem: Easton EA 50
    Brake: Hayes HFX9 Carbon
    Saddle: Fizik Nisene
    Wheels: Mavic 317
    Tires: Kenda Nevegal Stick-E
    Pedal: Crank Brother Candy C
    Handlebar: ???
    R Derailleur: sram x9
    F D: sram x-gen
    x9 shifter

I'm gonna be writing my thought on the mojo in comparison to my 05 MKIII Expert and FYI, i'm not an expert mtber so keep that in mind.

CLIMBING:
    I have to say that the bike climb very well, a lot better than I thought actually. I climbed Cholla(Aliso wood) with fork fully extended to 140 and the rear sock set to open and the Mojo never bob at all!!!! I didn't expect the mojo to bob because my MKIII didn't bob either. However, I was really surprised that the front wheel never lifted at all even with the fork is fully extended. I have to at least lower my fork to 120 on my MKIII whenever I climb.

DESCENDING:
    The Mojo rides like a dream going down all the fire road descent between the top of Cholla to top of the world. It rode so nice and smooth that I found my self going a lot faster than I normally would. However when I went down rock-it and hit the rock-garden, I felt a lot more chatter on the rear wheel in comparison to my MKIII. I felt that the MKIII can absorb the bigger rock & drop much better. However, I'm not too sure if that was because I was going down it faster than I normally would on my MKIII.

The mojo definetely feel a lot lighter on the pedal and can hold its line much better compare to the MKIII. I definetely like it so far and it was definetely worth the upgrade!!

Thanks for reading.

mtbr member

Congrats!