mtbr member

Mojo XL, 6'-2"+, short stem? Please tell me your experiences.

I've been riding an XL Mojo for a few years. I came from XC hardtails with very long top tubes, so I put on a 110mm stem and never thought twice. Reading through other posts here, though, I'm considering a 70mm. I'm having the exact challenges with handling that a shorter stem should fix.

That said, I'm between 6'-2" and 6'-3", and have very long arms and legs. I have the saddle pretty far back on the rails to get good knee position, and even then compared to my old HT I feel like I'm almost sitting bolt upright. The Mojo top tube is really short.

The idea of making my cockpit even more cramped is a little odd. Any riders of my height or more who ride an XL with a short stem care to share their experiences or advice?

aka dan51
    I'm about 6'1"-6'2". I went from a 90mm to 70mm and it was the greatest thing I did for handling, along with lowering the stem and handlebar height.
    What's the worst that could happen? You'd be out $X and could always throw the long stem back on.
    My legs must be built different. I have a straight post and run the rails right in the middle.
    Those who know, ride a Mojo AND a Mojo HD.
    Quadzilla
    Quote Originally Posted by benja55
    Ok, whatever, cold water on my bike boner right there.

mtbr member
    I'm 6'2" and run a 50mm and 65mm on the Mojo and wouldn't want anything longer. However, I am using 29.5" bars, lower hbar height, and a 160mm fork. I also run the seat in the middle of the rails on a straight post without any knee pain.
    Just pick up a cheap stem and try it out.

www.derbyrims.com
    On my Mojo I went from a 90mm to 70mm stem and 1 inch wider bar lowered 1/2 inch (to no spacers under the stem) and feel major benefits in rough trail handling and standing pedal power increase.

mtbr member
    I'm 6'3" and I run a 710mm bar with a 70mm stem... is perfect

IMG_0225

mtbr member
    May 2004