Thread: Mojo HD for DH?

mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Mojo HD for DH?

Guys, I need some help here. I'm just getting into lift access (mtn. creek) riding and am really starting to enjoy it.

Current setup: Mojo HD 160, talas, rp23, shadow+, reverb, 2012 xtr ice breaks. I'm not looking for crazy jumps or drops, but love real techy, bouldery descents. The rp23 is obviously overwhelmed at this sort of riding. Should i consider; upgrading the rp23 to a CCDBA, Monarch?, switch to a Talas 180/140, go coil front and rear (Van/CCDB/HLR). These potential switches would be costly and would effect my everyday trail riding, (i think 180 would be overkill for trail/AM riding, but improve the DH performance. Should i purchase a DH specific bike (more money than the upgrades for sure) or should I get the DH fork and shock and switch out the parts for when I'm hitting up the park? Any thoughts or input/experiences on would be greatly appreciated!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by recleaver View Post
    Guys, I need some help here. I'm just getting into lift access (mtn. creek) riding and am really starting to enjoy it.

Current setup: Mojo HD 160, talas, rp23, shadow+, reverb, 2012 xtr ice breaks. I'm not looking for crazy jumps or drops, but love real techy, bouldery descents. The rp23 is obviously overwhelmed at this sort of riding. Should i consider; upgrading the rp23 to a CCDBA, Monarch?, switch to a Talas 180/140, go coil front and rear (Van/CCDB/HLR). These potential switches would be costly and would effect my everyday trail riding, (i think 180 would be overkill for trail/AM riding, but improve the DH performance. Should i purchase a DH specific bike (more money than the upgrades for sure) or should I get the DH fork and shock and switch out the parts for when I'm hitting up the park? Any thoughts or input/experiences on would be greatly appreciated!