mtbr member
    May 2007

Ibis Bow Ti Shock (rear and fork) advice please.

Noob here with an old bow ti. My Alps 5R is finally dead bleeding oil all over my bike and dampless. There must be something better by now. Any specific recommendations for replacement?

Also, still running a Judy SL. I would not mind tweaking my front end too.

I am 45 years old, 5'9" 185 lbs and ride mostly single track. Propedal or lockout would be nice. Light, adjustable, reliable, you know, something light as a feather but bombproof.

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by spyderknut; 05-15-2007 at 11:01 AM. Reason: need to broaden my title to cover front and rear suspension

mtbr member
    i'm not sure what length or stroke the bow ti needs but i was cruising ebay and found this:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Fox-Alps-5-rear-...QQcmdZViewItem

If you want to keep the Judy SL, you can purchase Englund Air Catridges (I think MRP carries them now) OR upgrade to a Reba.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Thanks Flipn

Eye to eye looks like 6.5" on my shock. I would rather have something newer than replacing the 5R. Something that will return the plushness but allow me to ride to trails on the road without bouncing all over (though if I concentrate on spinning, I don't bounce much now).

mtbr member
    I talked to Castilano about replacing my BowTi shock once, and he recommended an Fox Ava (a float with a large volume adjuster on it), and he even had some in stocked back then. Any 6.5", 1.5" stroke shock will work, but you might give the original designer a call to see what he recommends in the current line of shocks. He said the larger volume on the AVA was better for the BowTi geometry.

mtbr member
    May 2007

Update

Thank you itsdoable

I called John at the number listed on the new Ibis website. He answered! Fox Float RP23 is the current recommendation. John keeps them in stock and sells for under list. What great service.