Thread: I want my mojo!

mtbr member
    Apr 2006

I want my mojo!

Hi Ibis lovers! This is my first post on this forum so be gentle!

My new carbon Mojo should be with me in the next few days.

I have owned a Kona Coiler for the past couple of years (my first 'proper' mountain bike). I have decided that I am more suited to a lighter all-mountain bike. The Mojo looks perfect.

I am far from an expert, so left the build up to the bike shop. Here is the final build spec:-

Ibis Mojo XL Carbon
    Fox Float RP23 shock
    Rockshox Lyrik '07 2-step air fork
    Cane Creek Solos Integrated headset
    Thomson Elite 100x5 stem
    Thomson Elite seatpost
    Easton Carbon CNT SL Low Rise 25.4mm bars
    Fizik Aliante Carbon saddle
    Sram X.0 shifters
    Sram X.O Carbon Medium Cage mech
    Avid Juicy Ultimate brakes
    Chris King front / rear hubs
    DT 5.1 rims
    Race Face Atlas cranks
    Kenda Nevegal 2.1 tyres
    Burgtec Penthouse Flats Snow Camo pedals

Are there any glaring mistakes? Have they come up with a good spec for a Mojo build?

I guess this build is quite a lot different than some Mojos. I haven't seen any other Mojo's on the forum with the Lyrik fork - does anyone have experience of this?

Also I have seen quite a few XTR specced Mojos here. I went for X.O. as I hear this may result in less chain slap? Is this a good choice?

I will probably ebay the Coiler to help pay for this. Been a fun bike - heavily upgraded so hope it will get a good price whenever I get round to selling it:-

http://www.iksmada.com/kona/

I hope I will be as impressed as everyone else seems with the Mojo! It seems to have more positive comments and reviews on this site than any other bike.

BTW, thanks to Ibis for keeping me up-to-date with when the frame would be shipped over - they answered my e-mail within 5 minutes!

mtbr member