Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Stupid is, as stupid does

HDR/Mojo HD long travel 650B rear shock clarification

I wanted to post some useful info here or at least what I view as useful info. I have since done the long travel 650B conversion. When I first started researching here I thought that Bikeco was the only shop that could help me out. But I didn't want to run the Roco from Bikeco for two reasons.
    1) Bikeco would only modify a brand new shock purchased from them
    2) I didn't want to pay CA sales tax (I am a CA resident)
    3) I didn't feel that I needed to limit my travel to 147

Using the CCDBA:

To debunk myth #1. Yes the CCDBA can be spaced down. I talked directly to Cane Creek about this. They said to send the CCDBA To Garageworks suspension in Oceanside CA Or Suspension Experts in Asheville, NC. Both Companies said no problem. They can space the travel down to any amount. Approximate cost $150. It involves a complete rebuild.

But after breaking my wrist and not being able to ride for 6 months. My priorities changed and I no longer wanted to use the CCDBA

The Companies out there that can do this modification besides Bikeco to any rear shock and custom tune them to your weight, riding style, and needs are:

-Suspension Experts (the owner Kevin rides an HD) was super nice and we had about three very long conversations about my modification needs. A brand new Custom tuned RS Monarch Plus was quoted at $475

-Garage works suspension Very knowledgable. Used to work for Sram I think. Is licensed by CC for CCDBA service center along with all other rear shock companies.

-Hippie tech suspension-the owner used to work for Sram for many years. He still races downhill and is very knowledgeable & passionate. Will work on all rear shocks.