Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

HDR 650b Vs. SC Bronson

So here's the situation:

I've been riding my Large Mojo SL for the last 3 years, and loved it...but- after building up a niner this year and riding my buddy's XL Mojo SL, I realized i bought the wrong size. I'm 6ft exactly, and like my stem short and my bars wide.

Even with a 70mm stem (as long as I like to go), I could not get as comfortable on the Mojo as I am on the niner. I think it comes down to a top tube length issue, as the head angle and seat tubes are almost the same. ANYWAYS

I'm looking to upgrade to EITHER an XL HDR 650b (from bikeco w/ 147mm rear travel) OR the Santa Cruz Bronson.

Now I havn't ridden the Bronson, but it looks DIALED, and has been garnering amazing reviews. I obviously have saddle time on a MOJO SL, but not the HDR. I've seen mixed reviews on the HDR, some LOVE it, some are disappointed with it, wishing there were more tire clearance and that the frame was more dedicated, rather than an "iteration" of the HDR.

I know this is the IBIS forum, and I'd be lying if I didn't say I was leaning IBIS, heavily, but has anyone had saddle time on both? Can anyone give me some impressions? I don't want to get into a VPP vs DW discussion, I'm aware of the differences, but I've heard that with today's shocks, they both have the ability to be wonderful suspension setups.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    I rode a Mojo SL for 3.5 yrs. I demoed an HD, HDR, Altitude, Ripley, Tallboy, and Bronson. Love Ibis but Bronson won out for me. Just felt better for me. Plus maybe mentally knowing I was going to less travel in the rear on HDR than my SL had something to do with it. If HDR was built from the ground up as a 150 maybe would have changed my mind. For the Bronson geo and dimensions were perfect for me. Not sure if u can but as always. Ride them. I was torn between the Altitude and the Bronson. Went Bronson. Carbon XT kit with upgrade to XX1 on drivetrain. Love it.

mtbr member