mtbr member
    Apr 2009

HD as bike park ride vs 7-8" FR/DH bikes

this may be a better question on the FR/DH forum, but I'm curious from other HD riders...

I spent the last 2 weekends at Northstar (lake Tahoe, CA) which for those not familiar is very rough rocky and powdery dusty trails that tend to rattle your teeth a lot more than smoother places like Whistler (hoping to go there this summer) going between my HD and an older IronHorse 7pt.

the '08 IH 7pt is set with '10 boxxer coil and van rear shock, full DH tires and wheels, about 42lbs. Built it over the winter for DH.

The HD had oversized 2.4 tires (TK 2.4), flow wheels, 203 rotors, and my usual Fox 36 160mm and rp23 kashima shock - about 31lbs (>2lbs heavier than my everyday setup)

I went back and forth between the 2 bikes the first weekend and the HD just felt better - could be that I've been riding that HD for 6+ months now, and first time on the 7pt - but the light weight was very noticeable during jumps on livewire, fell much more nimble at steering as well. the suspension while only 6.3" was also a lot smoother to me over the rough. Yeah ideally I would get 180mm fork and angle it yet another degree for DH, but that is few times vs the trail/AM riding I do on the HD most of the time. Buddy who just got a Fox40 for his V10 was also complaining about weight (guessing 45lbs) - I got rave remarks from lift operators on my bike !

Everyone is ridding 8"+ and double crown forks (I did see another HD once) I'm wondering what others with HD are doing ?
    It's almost too nice of a bike for N*

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    Find a coil for the rear as the RP23 gets waay out of its depth in the rough stuff.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by nzl62 View Post
    Find a coil for the rear as the RP23 gets waay out of its depth in the rough stuff.