mtbr member
    May 2010

Curious about frequency of Cracks / Failures?

I've narrowed down the choices for my next bike to either a Mojo or a Turner 5 Spot. I've read "reviews" comparing the two and have demoed the Mojo (loved it). I'm planning to demo the 5-Spot in a few weeks out in California as there aren't any dealers in my area. Here is my question: How how many Ibis owners have found cracks and needed to replace frame components? As an engineer, I'm familiar with all of the wonderful benefits of carbon and believe it's an excellent material. I'm just curious about the failure rate? I'm imagining is very low as the design/manufacturing process has been tweaked over the years and I've been reading all of these wonderful product reviews. I guess I'm just looking for some data.... My conclusion so far is not to worry about it. If there is a failure, I can probably replace part of the frame for less money than the price differance between a 5 Spot and Mojo....

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    Go Ibis Carbon. I have been riding a Mojo since 2006 and can say that the frames are bomber, as is the Ibis Customer service! As a testament to the frame strength, I had an unfortunate incident with my frame where a loose inner chainring bold sliced through the lower BB area (as though someone had used a router bit)! The gash was a half an inch wide and 2" in length measured radially along the bb shell. The frame rode fine and never developeed any craks or failures.I elected to tape it up with duct tape (to keep the water out) and rode the frame for the rest of the season without any sort of incident. Upon admitting my lame story to Ibis, they offered and ultimately replaced the front triangle at cost!

So there you go, the frames are virtually indistructable in my experience. On the other hand, if you are a conservative Engineer, you probably do not wish to fly on the new 777 Dreamliner either, as the jury is out on the fatigue life of plastic airplanes.