mtbr member
    Nov 2008

cracks in the rear triangle

Guys,
    I own a green Mojo for 9-10 month. So far I am very satisfied and happy from the bike, they do ride great !
    But - last week I discovered a crack in the rear triangle, just close to where the reak shock is connected.
    Now, I am not a heavy guy, nor am I an aggressive rider.
    I am hoping people here can share their experience , is this a common problem with Ibis Carbon frame. Do they replace the frame with no problem or should I expect any issues.
    Thanks in advance
    Dror

mtbr member
    if i were you i would contact IBIS asap! why wait? i'm guessing (and hoping) if it's a stress crack that they'd fix/replace your frame.

however, i'm no expert!

KevinK
    Jul 2005
    Take some pictures of the crack, and post them here. Hans frequents this site, and he will let you know if it is something serious. From what I have read in the past, if it is a defect, they will replace the rear triangle immediately. Their customer service is second to none!!!

Good luck,

Kevin

mtbr member
    Nov 2008

cracks in the rear triangle - cont

Thanks guys for the reply. I obviously did not wait, went to my LBS who confirmed it is a crack, and the frame was already sent to IBIS.

The reasons I am worried are two:

1. IBIS asked for the frame to analyze it, so I have some concern about their replacement policy.

2. As the warranty on the frame is only 2 years, and I just got a crack after less than a year - I am getting very concerned about the stregth and durabulity of the bike. I really woudnt like to find my self n the situation 2 years from now. I am therefore intrested to know, even if the answer is less popular, whether this is a known issue with Ibis/Carbon.

I hope their service is as good as you guys say...

Prior to that I rode a Specialized EPIC for 6 years and never had any cracks....

Thanks again

Dror

PTP
    WWW.PEDALTHEPEAKS.BIZ
    Sep 2009