mtbr member
    Jun 2012

Anyone ridden an SLR w/ 67.5 HA?

I'm debating between a Mojo HD & an SLR....have been leaning toward the HD. Wondering if anyone has ridden both the HD and the SLR w/the head angle adjusted to 67.5 (w/the Cane Creek adj. angle set)? How does that ride compare with the HD? (or the HD 140?) Would it be a good 'middle of the road' approach between the 2?

Also...for people who have ridden both an SLR & HD, can you give me some perspective on how much of a difference it makes when climbing, i.e. are we talking like a minute on a 30-minute climb or ???

(I haven't yet decided which is more important for me...ability to climb better / lighter bike or advantages on DH & technical a slacker angle will give me. I'm fairly new to all this & don't know what type of terrain I'll end up riding down the road so that's not a main factor for me in my decision.)

Thanks for any input....

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    I have an SL-R with a 140mm fork and the CC Angleset at -1.5, making the HA 67.5. I haven't ever ridden an HD, so can't totally answer your question. However, my SL-R is quite light (probably 24-25 lbs), climbs extremely well, and has taken everything I've thrown at it on the downhills really well (rocks, roots, jumps, drops). The only place I haven't taken it is bike parks (I have DH bike for that), but easily venture to say that any terrain I'm not willing to ride down with the SL-R is more due to me and my inability than the bike.

My general opinion is that you could get either frame and, depending on components, tweak it to meet your trail needs (e.g., more XC or DH oriented). You could get an SL-R, throw lots of burly components on it, and ride it through some pretty crazy, rough stuff. You could also get an HD, throw some lighter more nimble components on it, and ride it on an 8 hour all-day epic climbing-fest. I'd venture to say both bikes could do a good job of being your "do it all bike".