mtbr member
    Jan 2008

Another fit threat - I'm 72.5in tall, currently own an L, should I be XL?

I currently own an original Mojo in Large, with a 70mm 0-degree stem, and 660mm bars with 15mm rise. My seatpost seems fairly high, and the seat sits just a tad back from dead center. I've been riding this bike for 2 years and have no real problems, but lately I read a fitment thread, and it go me thinking.

When riding, I notice that I have to work fairly hard to keep the front tire on the ground during steep climbs (even with the fork dropped to 120mm), and on descents, I find myself feeling like something is off - like the handlebars are either too low or too close to me.

I'm considering a Mojo HD as my next bike, and was assuming I'd get a large. Since I'll probably run a 70mm stem (could even do a 50mm) with ~710mm bars, should I actually be considering an XL?

These are my measurements, plus numbers from the Competitive Cyclist fit calculator.

Measurements
    -------------------------------------------
    Inseam: 34.5
    Trunk: 25
    Forearm: 14.5
    Arm: 25
    Thigh: 24
    Lower Leg: 23
    Sternal Notch: 60
    Total Body Height: 72.5

All Mountain Fit
    -------------------------------------------
    Standover Height Range: 32.7 - 33.4 inches
    Virtual Top Tube: 23.3 - 23.7 inches
    Stem Length: 7.7 - 10.1 cm
    BB-Saddle Position: 74.7 - 80.8 cm
    Saddle-Handlebar: 53.2 - 55.0 cm

Thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Why don't you try running a 90mm Stem and seeing if that feels better? If so then it will give you a general idea what the XL will feel like. Also take a look at the Head Tube Height on the XL and try to raise your bars to to match that too.

I ride a MD HD and felt like I should be on a LRG. I have tried a large and the reach felt good, but the bike felt bigger under me. Would I get used to the larger bike? Hard to say.