Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Proud bike-o-holic

Am I missing something here?

Hello all,

I just had my Mojo SL built so I have no experience with it so far but along with the flex issues which seem to be not an issue anymore, I have found two other subjects in which I think I need your input.

1.- Belly protectors. Why is there a tendendy to protect the belly of the frame? I know we all want to take care of our expensive frame, but Iīve had 2 other bikes and protecting their belly was not an issue. So my questions are: Does people simply like to protect their frames just for an aesthethic purpose? or are the carbon frames affected by rocks and there is a risk of damaging the frame at an estructural point so you better protect their belly?

2.- Chainsuck. What is that? a simple explanation about this would be appreciatted (non english speaking native here). Does everybody have to worry about this? or is it just for older models? or year of model has nothing to do with it?

Thanks in advance.

Marco

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    1. Belly Protectors - Almost entirely aesthetic. You don't "need" one to protect the structural inegrity of the frame. Just like any bike, you could break it in a hard enough fall/impact. But there is nothing about the carbon frame that requires a belly protector versus an aluminum one. Just more people who are paranoid about a little bit of clear coat chipping on carbon frames.

2. Chain suck - Occurs when your front chain ring picks up the chain and pulls/sucks it up between the chain rings and the chain stay so the chain is now above rather than below the chain stay. If you get it, it can be a major pain to get the chain back out because it took a lot of force from pedalling to pull it up. I have never had a problem, but I know some people have. I believe you can use spacers to move the chainrings further out which reduces the chance of the chain getting stuck when you get chainsuck.

Mojo0115
    Nov 2004