Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Advice needed for HD coil: CCDB or Vivid Coil?

8K views 30 replies 12 participants last post by  nzl62 
#1 ·
Hey folks, wanted to get your take on a transformation of my mojo. I saw that HucknRoll deal on the Marz 66 RC3 Ti for $500 and couldn't say no .... So I'm in the market for a coil rear shock now and would like advice! I have never used a coil before and would like to hear from folks who have experience with coils on HDs.

I am 140 lbs and currently use my mojo in HD140 mode for trail riding, so this coil transformation will be for downhill trips to the mountains and the rare shuttle day. It still needs to be able to pedal cause 90% of the time, it'll be just little ole me getting it up the hill. I'd classify my riding as aggressive speed wise with moderate jumps ... Gaps up to 10 or 15 feet, chunky pisgah NC terrain, rarely drops to flat more than 5 feet.

I have had bad experience with Fox products so I was considering the vivid coil or the cane creek double barrel. Thoughts?

#3 ·
A compelling argument! Just ordered a vivid R2C w/a 300lbs spring. I'm pretty light so I hopefully won't be oversprung with that setup, but it seems like 2.5" 250lbs springs are hard to find.

Also, went with the mid-tune based on the leverage ratio; crossing my fingers that that was the right move.

#8 ·
Hey iClique, I think you're in the bay area, and it seems like you have quite a personality disorder. I'm happy to set you up with some of the folks in the psychiatry department at the hospital where I work. Let me know and I will forward along your info.
Obviously you must be the janitor there since all that's coming out of your mouth is crap! You should take advantage of the doctors at your work and seek some help!

Get a life!

#6 ·
I don't have any information regarding the CCDB but I have plenty of ride time in the RC4 and the Vivid with the Push team issue mod with the Hi/Low speed compression.