Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Got my Ignition-1 today and...

...I'm not as happy as I wish I was.
    I put it together, which seemed rather easy. But the first problem (I'm a noob) was that when I put the front tire on, the disk break would keep catching the tire when riding. I'm sure that isn't suppose to be like that. After about 30min of fine tuning, I got it where I could ride and the disk would not catch the break. However, sharp turns it sometimes still catches?! What gives?

Another problem is my gears. I can't go into the upper gears correctly. I'm still not down with the lingo yet, but to explain, the large gear (1-2-3) goes all the way to the upper gear (19) but when I go to 23 and 24, it just rattles and the chain is touching the derailer (correct?). The only way to stop this horrible noise is to hold down on the shifter so that it pushes it outwards a little more so it won't catch. I guess being a noob I just don't know what to do. This bike is hitting the LBS at 10:00 AM to get a tune-up/setup so I can ride it.

Another thing that was really lame was that the paint in the box was spilled in its bag. No damage done, but I also have no paint now. It is just dried up in the bag.

If anyone has any ideas about my little problem, please let me know. I'd love to fix it myself instead of forking over another $40 just to get it setup right cause I'm too stupid to do it myself. I'm suppose to go on my first trail ride on Sunday, so I do need it running.

Otherwise, the few minutes I have spent on it are a blast. The saddle is a little hard, and I just do not like those peddals. i guess that's what I get for going with the low price model.

It is a pretty bike though. It looks pretty good, and like I said, the ride is nice if I don't have to shift. LOL.

Fat guy on a bike