Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2008

2008 Asta Expert vs Asta Pro

I'm probably ordering one of these 2008 Asta models tomorrow (Friday) morning. Other than being 2 lbs lighter, and the SRAM V9 vs Shimano XT debate, are there any other significant differences I should know about between the Expert and Pro?

I have no problem springing for the pro if it I will notice the differences... but I'm new to mountain biking so I feel like going with the pro might be completely wasted. And in fact, the Devo seat looks racier, and maybe is more uncomfortable for leisurely rides?

Also, regarding sizing: I'm 6'0" tall and 190lbs if that matters. I'm thinking of going with the 18" size even though it's the top of the recommendation. Thoughts?

Cuánto pesa?

Good job! Welcome to the FORUMz..................

Quote Originally Posted by rumatt
    I'm probably ordering one of these 2008 Asta models tomorrow (Friday) morning. Other than being 2 lbs lighter, and the SRAM V9 vs Shimano XT debate, are there any other significant differences I should know about between the Expert and Pro?

Also, regarding sizing: I'm 6'0" tall and 190lbs if that matters. I'm thinking of going with the 18" size even though it's the top of the recommendation. Thoughts?
    My view on the X9 vs the PRO...................
    In this corner we have the: 08' ASTA PRO
    Fork: Rock Shox Reba Race* 100mm Travel..Motion Control / Remote L/O
    External Rebound / Low-Spd Compression / External Floodgate better / lighter
    Shock: Manitou Swinger X3 Air* SPV / Manual L/O Overide better / lighter

Shifters: Shimano XT Rapidfire Plus personal preference
    Front Derailleur: Shimano XT personal preference
    Rear Derailleur: Shimano XT Shadow personal preference

Crankset: TruVativ Stylo 3.3 Team (44/32/22T) better
    Bottom-Bracket: TruVativ GXP Team better
    Cassette: SRAM PG-980 lighter
    Brakes/Levers: Avid Juicy-7 Hydraulic Disc Brakes Stopping power plus / lighter