mtbr member

'05 Apogee Sport-Rear Shock Tuning Question

I'm a newbie to FS bikes and am looking for some feedback from anyone familiar with the Vector Focus Air shock on the '05 Apogee Sport. I just recently got two of them (one for me and one for my wife) and am just now getting to set them up. My wife's is dialed in pretty well straight out of the box, but I'm having a bit of a time with one of the adjustments on the shock.

After a short conversation earlier today with someone from Ibex, I was all set to follow their instructions on setting the negative and positive pressures on the Vector Focus Air rear shock. Setting the negative air adjustment (furthest from the lockout switch) is quite easy since the valve is easily accessible without any problems. The positive air adjustment (closest to the lockout switch) is quite a different story!!!

The valve for the positive air adjustment is partially tucked behind one of the right side pieces in the 4-link system making it impossible to attach the shock pump to the valve. It helps a bit when I sit on the bike, creating a bit more space, but it's still not enough room to fit the pump head over the shock's positive air valve stem.

I'm sure I must be doing something wrong but I can't figure out any way of getting into it without dissembling part of the 4-link system (which doesn't seem right!!!).

Can anyone help? Any info you might have would be greatly appreciated since I'm itching to take it out on a ride now that the Minnesota weather has returned to (slightly) above-freezing temperatures! I also plan on talking to Jack once he returns on Monday, just thought others might be able to get me some info before then.

Thanks in advance,
    SP

mtbr member

Adventures from NewbieLand!

Okay everybody, I'm replying to my own post...hope this doesn't rub anyone the wrong way...