Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Big Island Trails

85K views 672 replies 30 participants last post by  Specialutz 
#1 ·
Hey guys, I'm kinda new to the mountain biking scene. I've been riding in just random places that I can find. I wouldn't mind trying out some of the more defined/popular trails. I've heard of Kulani (sounds difficult for my skill level), University Hilo Trail (where do I start/enter?), and Kalopa. Are there any other good ones out there? How's the Tree Planters road?

Today I went for another random trail hunt. I found myself above Akolea Rd passing a couple of water tanks. It mostly was gravel stuff, then all of sudden it became a paved/defined road that just kept on going uphill..a semi-steep uphill. According to my gps I was around 1400 ft in elevation. Seems like if I kept going up I would have found myself to the right of Kaumana City. My legs were burning at this point so I decided to turn around. Let me just say that the downhill ride was fast and sketchy at times. But I had fun and found myself screaming, "WOO HOO!":D

#501 ·
Thanks for the offer gmats. As much as I would like to, I will take a pass on this one. I'm still taking this time to brush up on my running. I know that once I get my bike back I will totally forget about running again. lol.

#513 ·
Aloha Renn,

I don't know of any riding down in the Captain Cook/Hoanaunau area. I'm sure there are trails, I just don't seem to make it down there to scope out trails. Best bet is to drop in on the guys down at Bikeworks Kona. They're super cool. I ride with them from time to time when they're up here in Waimea or or I'm down there with them.

I sometimes ride a bit north of you up in Kaloko. Some great, technical steep up and down single track stuff.

Good luck with that.

#519 ·