Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Big Island Trails

85K views 672 replies 30 participants last post by  Specialutz 
#1 ·
Hey guys, I'm kinda new to the mountain biking scene. I've been riding in just random places that I can find. I wouldn't mind trying out some of the more defined/popular trails. I've heard of Kulani (sounds difficult for my skill level), University Hilo Trail (where do I start/enter?), and Kalopa. Are there any other good ones out there? How's the Tree Planters road?

Today I went for another random trail hunt. I found myself above Akolea Rd passing a couple of water tanks. It mostly was gravel stuff, then all of sudden it became a paved/defined road that just kept on going uphill..a semi-steep uphill. According to my gps I was around 1400 ft in elevation. Seems like if I kept going up I would have found myself to the right of Kaumana City. My legs were burning at this point so I decided to turn around. Let me just say that the downhill ride was fast and sketchy at times. But I had fun and found myself screaming, "WOO HOO!":D

#7 ·
Are you part of the crew that rides at Kulani every Friday? I was talking to Chris at Hilo Bike Hub and he says he rides there all the time.

#3 ·
I would love to check out Kulani one day. I'm pretty sure I can learn a thing or two. I'm still a newbie so I just need to get out there and ride.

#9 ·
Well being a family man my schedule is tight. How long does a ride at Kulani take? I can usually spare a couple of hours after work. Or my weekends are pretty free right now. The best times for me on the weekend is early afternoon after lunch.

#11 ·
Mazu-- I know you from two sites now. :) sent you a message. might go am run on sunday with the group. usually around 8 finished by 10. lmk. only easy as i am just getting back in the offroad saddle from vacation.barely 6 mi tops.