mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Haro Tech Support = Clueless

I lost my manual on my '07 Mary XC. I was upgrading my crankset/BB & contacted tech support for my Bottom Bracket width. Seemingly a simple question. "Jill H" amazingly provided the wrong answer for 2 weeks & 9 email's.
    After the 3rd or so email it was obvious that she was easily confused .. & refused to transfer me to an engineer! .. so I bought a micrometer. In the end I had to inform her of the BB width.
    By far the most incompetent tech support I have ever recieved. (& I worked in a shop for 7 yrs). If I had listened to her I would've ruined my frame/new crankset/BB/etc.
    I like the bike, but if that's the sort of "10 year" employees they have ... Lets just say I am thoroughly convinced not to buy another one.

mtbr member
    Wow, you worked in a shop for 7 years and couldn't determine BB width. What did you do sweep floors?

mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Haro Tech Clueless

Fair question that is.
    I didn't mind sweeping floors, I like a clean shop - but it was mostly sales, & it was admittadly a long time ago, &...
    Actual measurement is 71.042 (w/ paint) - it sorta looked 'in-between' 68 & 73, cause it is. She called it both 68 & 73 - I still don't know what it's 'supposed' to be. I'm using 2 BB spacers instead of the 1 or 3 that's reccommended. 1 ride, working nice so far. And now I have a shiny, new micrometer.

mtbr member
    The BB is an English thread and would use a 68-73 like most other cross country bikes. The BB that you will buy will be labeled as such 68-73. Lets just hope you didn't sell any bottom brackets in those 7 years. Pic related.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Haro Tech = Clueless

Holy dork! I needed to know how many spacers to use, that's how they work.

master blaster
    Wow, you worked in a shop for 7 years and dont own a micrometer untill now??. What did you do sweep floors?
    Quote Originally Posted by ISuckAtRiding View Post