mtbr member
    Sep 2008

Question about GT Marathon 3.0 seat height

I purchased a new GT Marathon 3.0 today from Performance Bike. Based on the sale they were running, I was able to get it for $850. Based on the components that the bike has, it seems like a pretty good deal.

I am fairly new to mountain biking and I have a question about the seat height on this bike. This may be a dumb question, but I am going to ask it anyways.

The seat will not adjust down as far as I need it to. When I am on a bike, I am use to being able to touch both feet on the ground, while sitting on the bike. When I try to adjust the seat down, it is still too high.

What is the normal guideline for how high your seat should be? Also, is it possible to shorten the seat post by cutting it, or do they sell shorter one?

mtbr member
    You can always cut your seatpost down. However, saddle height is based around leg extension from the pedal at the bottom of the crank rotation, not if you can touch the ground. Actually, if you can touch both feet to the ground, your saddle is not high enough.

A simple way to get the correct leg extension is heels to pedals. With the heel of your foot on the pedal, at the bottom of the crank rotation (i.e., the pedal is closest to the ground), your leg should be almost fully extended.

After you determine your correct leg extension, then try lowering your seatpost. Mountain bikers typically want to be able to lower their saddles about 2-4 inches for technical descents.

If your seatpost is too high then, just lop off the difference. If you cut the seatpost too short, you could break the post or even the frame. There should always be at least 3 inches of seatpost inserted into your frame. This is referred to as Minimum Insertion.

Finally, since you bought your bike from the experts at Performance Bikes, how tall are you are and what size bike did you get. You might have gotten the wrong size bike.

mtbr member
    Dec 2006