mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Newbie needs help with what fork to upgrade to

Sorry guys/gals as I'm sure this topic has been beat to death but I've got some cash burn'n a hole in my pocket and want to know a few possible fork upgrades that you all would suggest.

My ride is an '07 GT avalanche 2.0 with a RST fork. I'm 5'10" and 170lbs. Most of my riding is mountain single track. Some possibilities from the other info. I've reaped from the forum and other places are the following forks. Rock Shox Tora, Marzocchi MX Pro, Marzocchi XC600 forks, RS Revelation. The reviews on these are pretty decent, but I don't know if they work well with the Avalanche frame, etc.

Let me know if there is a better option than one of these. Like the title says I'm relatively new to mtb so I don't have any prior experience.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Eric

808+909 = Party Good Time
    it would be worth reposting this in the general or beginner forums where there is a lot more activity since it's not a GT specific question anyhow... sorry i can't help more

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Chumbox, I appreciate the note. I'll repost there.

thanks,

E

No good in rock gardens..
    Any 100mm fork will work just fine. If you can find a Reba in your budget, I highly recommend them.
    My Cannondale Lefty keeps failing....

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Thanks for the feedback. I'll start looking for one. Is this the kind of fork you have?

thanks,

E

Quote Originally Posted by gexas
    Thanks for the feedback. I'll start looking for one. Is this the kind of fork you have?

thanks,

E
    Yes, I have a Reba SL, as do two of my buddies. They are a plush and very tunable fork and mine's two years old now with zero issues of any sort.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008