mtbr member
    May 2009

Joining the Force...

Newbie here, just wanted to say thanks for all the great info and feedback on this GT forum. After buying an Avalanche 2.0 a couple of years ago to free ride around, I finally started to ride trails with some co-workers after work a couple of months ago. I've been hooked ever since and decided to start looking for an AM bike. After bouncing back and forth between the Stumpjumper Comp and Force 2.0, I went with the Force 2.0 Platinum Edition from Performance Bike. They had a one day 20% sale on Sunday which was online/phone only. I got the bike which was already on sale for $1799 (MSRP $2499) down to $1483. Looking back to when I was kid, I had nothing but GT's. Guess I figured it would be cool to stay loyal to the brand which has provided so many great memories. I'm super pumped and can't wait for it to come in. Anyways, thought I chime in, carry on..

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Thats awesome man!!

Welcome to the Force! You are seriously gonna love this bike!

Thats an incredible deal you got too! I'm not familiar with the Platinum Edition though. How does it differ to the regular 2.0?
    I'm Ron Burgundy?

mtbr member
    May 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by Eatyapeas
    Thats awesome man!!

Welcome to the Force! You are seriously gonna love this bike!

Thats an incredible deal you got too! I'm not familiar with the Platinum Edition though. How does it differ to the regular 2.0?
    Thanks! The Platinum has SRAM X.9 and Rock Shox Revelation fork. Not sure what the other differences are.

Now I need to figure out what size shock I need to replace the Fox R with a RP23.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Nice! I guess that means mine is also a platinum!

Here in Oz we only got the SRAM version and there was very little to go round.