mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Internal Cable Routing - GT Marathon

Question about the internal routing of cables through a carbon GT Marathon frame. I dis-assembled the bike and simply pulled everything out.....is there actual tube inside the frame to guide me back through or am I in for a long night with a coat hanger trying to feed them through :-). Also, my rear brake hose was shot anyways therefore I just cut it to slide it through.....looking back I realized that it wouldn't have fit through the guide anyways due to the fittings on the end.....any suggestions here on how to get a new hydraulic cable/hose through there? Thanks! Blake

mtbr member
    Dec 2013
    Hi Blake,

I had the same problem a month or so ago, what I found is that there aren't any internal cables so there's probably only 2 choices (I am no bike mechanic so there could be better ways). The first is to use some wire and spend an age trying to get the cable through and if you manage this you'll probably find that there isn't enough room for your gear cable to go through too. The second option which may not be recommended is to use a hammer and chisel to push the clip into the frame (I did this as I got so frustrated trying to fix) there will then be ample space to get any cables through. The downside is that the previous clip will still be in the frame and you'll need another clip to replace the original (I am trying to find the part on the web).

The brake cable clips are plastic and come out of the frame relatively easily so you should be able to get any cables through.

Let me know how you go.

Cheers

Tony

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    I am interested in this as well.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010