mtbr member
    Jul 2013

New question here. Help Identify My GT and Give Advice???

Hey Everyone... I'm a complete noob here so please bare with me...

I just picked up a GT Tequesta yesterday on a Craigs List buy. Not in the best shape but seems to shift pretty decently when I took it for a ride yesterday... The whole reason for the purchase is to a.) get into mountain biking and b.) have a project bike to build up, upgrade, and learn about all the components...

So here we go... My plans for this to start out is to replace the handlebars and stem if needed. Riding it yesterday felt like I was slumped over to much with to much weight on my wrists... I was looking to get a riser handlebar and stem that was shorter...

The brakes work great and seem pretty responsive but the previous owner did some kind of modification to the brake levers to make room for the newer gear shifts they had installed...

Tires don't seem worn but they are a little on the older side.. So going to replace those in the near future.

Lastly, for now, I'm going to strip the frame down and repaint and add some decals...

So now for my questions... I know as for most things there are preferred brands and places to purchase parts from... What would be recommended for mountain bikes?

As far as the handlebar and stem go, what size should I be looking at or are they pretty much universal?

I know this bike has what appears to be a Shimano STX brake system installed. Can I get any brake lever to replace what's there or do I have to replace with the exact same lever?

And finally, does anyone have any info on this bike as original specs, year it was made? I looked on Bikepedia and can't really narrow it down to which one it may be...

Here are some pics of what I have to start with... It needs to be cleaned up and given a little TLC but this is going to be my summer project so looking forward to what it could end up looking like...