mtbr member
    Feb 2009

Got a old GT tequesta....

What's up everyone,
    I'm brand new here but it's really cool to see so many people into biking (especially here in San Diego). Anyways I decided to buy a used bike from cl to try out mountain biking so here it is!

I was ecstatic to find out there was a complete forum section dedicated to this bike and I was hoping you guys could tell me what year it was from. I read somewhere on here that since it has a U brake it's from 1988 ish, but so far I haven't seen any tequestas in this color yet. All the brakes have shimano on them, and the shifting mechanism have the words m system, dualsis, and exage on them. The rims have CV-7 Araya on them too.
    I believe the bike is in fairly good shape (but I have no knowledge of mountain bikes at all) and it felt good when I rode it around and shifted the gears before I bought it. I'm sure I'm going to change out the grips on the handle bars and the seat since they're pretty worn out. I thought there was rust on the frame initially, but it looks like it's just paint rubbed off (would like to keep the original paint job though!). I also thought the chain looked rusty, but i guess it's just really dark with grease. Is there any problems I should be looking for that are common in a bike this old? I'm planning to take it to the North of the Border bike shop here in San Diego to have it inspected and tuned up, but it would be nice to know a little bit of what I needed before I went!
    Thanks again,
    Jake

mtbr member
    It's a 1993 model year bike in Sapphire Blue....Here's the original catalog picture.

And here's a link to the original spec sheet:
    http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B...esta&Type=bike
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Needed: 26.8mm XTR seatpost, blue GT/Grundig Jersey.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Thanks for the ID GM!

mtbr member
    Jul 2004