Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

fork upgrade to 2008 Marathon 3.0

923 views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  Grey_Wolf 
#1 ·
this is the bike:
http://www.gtbicycles.com/usa/eng/Products/Mountain/Cross-Country/Full-Suspension/?s_archived=t#2621

Thinking about a fork upgrade. Options

RS Revelation 110-140mm U-turn
Fox Float RLC or R (140mm)
Fox Talas
Marzocchi 44 ATA 100-140mm

but also open to any other, especially cheaper options. I ride single track, XC, getting more and more aggressive as I learn, like everybody else here. Living in the SE (carolinas now, GA soon). This is my first bike and I'm planning to keep 'till frame is gone, if ever happen. I already upgraded brakes 'cause a crash, and wheels 'cause use or abuse.

Thanks to everybody in advance for ideas or help. I'm new to MTB but already addicted to it.

Diego.

#2 ·
Personally, I think the Talas / U-turn adjustable forks are kinda silly. I've never done a climb so steep my bike was the limiting factor. If it gets steep enough I need to drop the front end that much, I probably can't ride up it anyway. I had a Talas, and even in the gnarly long climbs in CO, I thought it was overkill.

When you add travel adjust, you're increasing weight and complexity. It's just one more thing to break, or one more thing to need servicing. For 2 inches of adjustment, I don't feel like it's worth it.

I would look at the Manitou Minute series. A few years ago Manitou sucked, but they've stepped up their game, and now make very good, lightweight and simple forks.

#3 ·
now is down to these...

if Fox Float: RLC or R??? ($500 sometimes at GF)
Revelation Dual air ($370)
Manitou minute.($400ish depending on model)

Thank you for your feed back. Being a new to MTB your advice was exactly what I needed.

#4 ·
Got three very nice forks there!

Any one of those will be an awesome fork and you won't regret either one!