mtbr member
    May 2007

Craigslist Avalanche Expert Help Needed

Let me start off by saying I'm a long time lurker and seldom poster. That being said, I could really use some advice from the more upgrade savy riders here. A couple days ago I purchased a 2006 Avalanche Extreme on Craigslist for $200. I have been trailriding for several years and decided to purchase a new bike rather than upgrade my current hardtail that has a bunch of miles on it's second drivetrain and fork. The bike I purchased, and somewhat regret has a prestine frame that almost looks NOS or was possibly a warranty replacement. With the exception of an almost new XT rear der., everything else is tired. I made the mistake of buying it just as the sun was setting and didn't look it over too carefully (ouch.) My question is, should I replace components (cranks, brakes, fork, shifters...ect) or just send it back down the road for what I paid? Any advice would be appreciated.

Nice day for a ride.....
    The Avalanche frames are a great base for building great bikes from. I've had a few Avalanche's over the years and modified them to my liking. Part of the fun with bikes is upgrading and modifying them to suit your style / liking.

It shouldn't cost you a whole lot to replace normal wear and tear parts like your describing, just surf around the web, places like jensonusa.com and pricepoint.com have good deals in any price range. As far as the fork goes, those bikes came with a Tora which rebuild parts are readily available for.
    2011 Cannondale SL4 29er
    2012 Norco CCX3
    2014 Nashbar Fatbike

mtbr member
    May 2007