mtbr member
    Feb 2008

Advice sought: 2007 Avalanche 1.0 vs 2008 Avalanche 2.0

Hi All.

Firstly, I'm a newbie here, thought I'd just get that out of the way, in case I'm asking a stupid question....

I currently own a 1997 GT Arrowhead, with no front-suspension. It cost me around 250 when new, and despite being at the lower end of the price spectrum, I've been very pleased with it. The bike has served me well for 10 years, mainly for cycling country lanes and light off-roading, but I'm now wanting to start going off-road a bit more (still no downhill though), and cant help thinking that it's time for a new bike - with front suspension this time!

Seeing as I've had such good service from my current GT, I'd like another GT, and in my relatively low price range (around 300-400) that puts me in the price range of the 2008 Arrowhead 2.0 disc at 400.

However, I've also seen discounted 2007 Avalanche1.0, for around 330 - although it doesn't have disc-brakes.

I'm very much out of touch with the MTB scene right now, but to be honest, I don’t particularly see that I need disc brakes - after all, a new bike with Vee brakes will be an upgrade from my Arrowhead which has cantilever brakes!

I've looked at various online reviews, and compared component lists, but TBH I keep going around in circles, as none of it means that much to me right now.

So, does anyone have any opinion on whether I'd be better off going for a 2007 Avalanche 1.0 (no discs) or a 2008 Avalanche 2.0 (with discs)?

Additionally, and this may well be a stupid question - while I want to go off road more, I want to still go round the country lanes as much as ever - Am I going to have any problems using front suspension on road? I.e. is it going to reduce my power compared to my current no-suspension arrowhead?

OK thanks for reading so far, and I'll look forward to any replies :-)

Cheers, Rich.

mtbr member
    Jan 2008