mtbr member
    Sep 2013

2009 Marathon Team - Shock Question

Hello,
    I'm a newbie here and kind of into the mtb scene (grew up racing BMX and then most recently raced moto). I recently purchased a used 2009 GT Marathon Team and it has a Fox RP23 shock on it (just the stock/standard shock that came with). I have the bike up in the work stand (all weight off the bike) and the eye-to-eye measurement of the shock is 6". I would really like to upgrade the rear shock but finding any new shocks with a 6" length seems to be pretty difficult. Any suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks,
    Blake

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    I used to have this bike. Why are you thinking of upgrading the shock? An RP23 was pretty much top of the line back then and still now, not much is better. Maybe go with a Kashima coated RP23 but what you have in there is pretty freaking good bro even by 2013 standards.
    2009 GT Marathon Team,GT Force 2.0, GT Jelly Belly TT (nude carbon), and a very special Todd Wells Zaskar.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    Oh, and I think the eye to eye is supposed to be 6.5. I'm almost 100% sure.
    2009 GT Marathon Team,GT Force 2.0, GT Jelly Belly TT (nude carbon), and a very special Todd Wells Zaskar.

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by gt jorgito View Post
    Thanks for the information. I'm a newbie to the MTB scene (grew up racing BMX and later got into Moto...eventually held my AMA Pro Motocross License). I'm not at all saying I "need" a better shock or that the RP23 is bad BUT I have a personal problem with always needing the "cool" HAHAHA. Coming from Moto and how all the high dollar suspension is Kashima coated, I would just really like to have a Kashima coated shock and forks...that's all :-). So are you saying that if I took the shock off the bike that it would extend another 1/2" and really measure 6.5".....meaning I need to be looking for a 6.5" replacement?