mtbr member
    Mar 2009

2009 Marathon carbon pro

I was trying to decide between the GT MCP and the Specialized Stumpjumper FSR expert carbon. I am coming from a '97 GT Rebound (a great bike) so this is my first time on a FS and a light carbon frame to boot!

I need advice about this bike as a purchase: yes, no, indifferent...? I need honest opinions, please. (not that I would find anyone on the GT forum promoting a Specialized!) Anyone have a review of this masterpiece?

I am a 30y.o. who took time off from riding due to a military disability and am returning to the trail because of the love for it, the fitness it brings, and the passion for taking care of nature and machine. I plan to hit trail and street (commute to the local university). Since my disability has limited use of my right hand, I have chosen the GT on a couple reasons, one being the XTR triggers, and two, the Fox RP23 with lockout (for commute). I will adjust them as i see fit to meet my abilities, but having 9 choices on my right does seem daunting. Does anyone have any advice on this issue as well?
    Last edited by getmet79; 03-09-2009 at 11:52 PM.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004