mtbr member
    Sep 2008

1994 Tequesta BB problem

I am trying to rebuild my old mountain bike from childhood. Its my first rebuild project. I have a crank puller but it will not pull the crank off my GT. Has anyone encountered something like this??

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisgiantrider
    I am trying to rebuild my old mountain bike from childhood. Its my first rebuild project. I have a crank puller but it will not pull the crank off my GT. Has anyone encountered something like this??
    Interestingly enough, I am rebuilding a Karakoram and my crank puller won't thread into the crank arms. It could be its just a cheap crank puller [performance bikes brand] or something else??? What exactly isnt' working for you?

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Let me preface this by saying its my first time using one of these tools, however the center of the crank puller is circular and there is a square hole inside of the crank once I remove the tightening bolt on the outside. Are there crankpullers where the internal driver is square and not round.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by chrisgiantrider
    Let me preface this by saying its my first time using one of these tools, however the center of the crank puller is circular and there is a square hole inside of the crank once I remove the tightening bolt on the outside. Are there crankpullers where the internal driver is square and not round.
    I will leave it to the experts, hopefully you'll get some guidance from a bike technician here!

R.

Slowly but surely...